Child-Friendly Business Awards
Happy parents make even better employees. Our annual Child-Friendly Business (CFB) Awards recognize businesses that support their parent employees in balancing the demands of work and being a great parent.
Research proves businesses that implement policies and practices that help their employees in their personal lives have a greater return on their investment. A Child-Friendly Business invests in the little things that make a BIG difference.
Why become Child-Friendly? Watch this video.
5 Things Employers should know About Breastfeeding
Past Child-Friendly Business Award Recipients
Studies and Research on Child-Friendly Practices
2013 Winners Radio Advertisement
2013 Winners Newspaper Advertisement
Six Child-Friendly Laws Every Parent Should Know
Pregnancy Disability Leave
Women who work for an employer with 5 or more employees are entitled to up to 4 months of Pregnancy Disability Leave.
California Family Rights Act (CFRA)
Workers may take up to 12 weeks of leave to bond with a newborn baby, newly adopted or foster child within the first 12 months of the child’s arrival in the home.
Paid Family Leave Act
Workers who pay into the State Disability Insurance can get up to six weeks of partial pay a year while taking time off from work to care for a new child or a sick family member.
Sick Leave Use for Family Care
Employees who earn paid sick leave can use half of the sick leave earned each year to care for sick family members.
Family-School Partnership Act
Parents who work for an employer with 25 or more employees or more at the same location can take unpaid time off work to attend a child’s school activities (40 hours each year, but no more than 8 hours a month).
Lactation Accommodation Laws
California law requires employers to give mothers adequate break time and a private sanitary place (other than a bathroom stall) to express breast milk.